My Top Five Places to Read

On the topic of reading, I’ve covered why, and I’ve covered when. Now it’s time to cover where! Here are my top 5 places to read:

#5 – At the Library

It can sometimes get a bit noisy, but there is nothing compared to the atmosphere of a library. Being surrounded by books and fellow book lovers, it’s like a home away from home.

blast-in-the-library

#4 – On a Flight

Planes and books – two of my favourite things. I don’t get to fly very often, unfortunately, so, naturally, I don’t really get to read on planes a lot! But earlier this year, when I flew from San Francisco to Honolulu, and then Honolulu to Sydney a week later, I’m pretty sure I got more reading done than I ever have before in a single period of time, and speaking of time, (forgive my pun) it absolutely FLEW by! It turned a 10 hour flight into a quick island hop.

giphy

#3 – On a beanbag or on the couch in my lounge room

This one is especially nice in the summer time*, when the breeze is blowing through the house, BUT, the rest of the house has to be completely quiet. I love reading in the lounge room when no one else is home (which is hardly ever, to be honest), but I’ll settle for almost-completely-quiet. The moment someone comes out and tries to talk to me, that’s it, I have to relocate.

*NB – I’m sure if I had a fireplace in my lounge room, I would thoroughly enjoy sitting before it and reading in the winter time.

1p2Ja

#2 – Outside in the sunshine

Again, this one applies particularly in the summer months, when the sun is shining, and there’s a gentle southerly breeze blowing, and I can just sit back on a deck chair and read (and tan), it’s like being on a relaxing holiday.

6d8fd5ca2996761c1f8245759ee7d6e7

#1 – In my bed at night

This is my absolute favourite time and place to read. Especially in winter. There is nothing more comforting and relaxing than curling up in your blankets with your cat beside you, surrounded by pillows and warmth, and reading a good book. Add a cup of tea (or the occasional glass of wine for those of you over 18, or over 21 in the US!) to the mix, and you’ve got the ultimate recipe for relaxation. I prefer to read distraction-free – no talking, no TV, no music, and this is the best place for me to find this kind of zen. A warning to those who dare knock on my door and interrupt, I will roll my eyes at you.

donnie-darko

So that’s it! What are your favourite places to read?? Leave a comment 🙂

EM

4 Comments

  1. Unfortunately I do have to say that reading on the plane is my LEAST favourite place to read. I get far too motion sick 😦

    Otherwise, I love reading on my couch when it’s pushed up near the back windows of my house so that I can enjoy the weather (sun or rain). My dream house has multiple window seats perfectly sized for my butt so I can read there.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    1. Hahahaha that sounds absolutely perfect V.C! It rained this afternoon and instead of doing the assignments I desperately need to do, I lay down on my couch and read instead! It was very nice.

      I’ve always considered myself fortunate because I don’t get motion sickness, I remember even as a child driving home from Armidale I was reading James and the Giant Peach in the car!

      Like

      Reply

  2. Thank you for following my blog. Nice to meet you and follow back.
    I read every chance I can not only because I am a reviewer, copy editor and author but because I love it!!

    I read on planes, as a passenger in the car, on the couch, in bed, in doctors’s offices and even when TV is on and I am bored with the shows.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

